ETHNIC NATIONALITIES COUNCIL

Statement No. 1/2004

- 1. The Ethnic Nationalities Council was established on March 12, 2004, in accordance with the 3rd Ethnic Nationalities Seminar, which was held from 28 January to 2 February 2004. The Council met from 12 to 14 March 2004.
- 2. (A) The political objectives of the Ethnic Nationalities Council are:
 - (i) End the military dictatorship in Burma,
 - (ii) Establish a democratic nation,
 - (iii) Establish ethnic equality and self-determination,
 - (iv) Establish a genuine federal union.
 - (B) The Ethnic Nationalities Council's strategy is to achieve its objectives through a "tripartite dialogue" to find political solutions to political problems.
 - (C) The "tripartite dialogue" must include the SPDC military regime, the democratic forces led by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and the ethnic nationalities, as called for by the United Nations General Assembly resolutions since 1994.
- 3. The Ethnic Nationalities Council was established with three representatives from the National Democratic Front (NDF), two from the United Nationalities League for Democracy (UNLD-LA), one from the Karenni National Progressive Party (KNPP), one from the National United Party of Arakan (NUPA), one from the Shan Democratic Union (SDU), and one from the Kachin National Organization (KNO) in total nine council members.
- 4. The 9 members of the Ethnic Nationalities Council members are:

| (i) Chairman Saw | Ba Thin Sein | (NDF) |
|----------------------|-----------------------|-----------|
| (ii) Vice-Chairman | Khu Hteh Bupeh | (KNPP) |
| (iii) Secretary | Dr. Lian H Sakhong | (UNLD-LA) |
| (iv) Joint-Secretary | Sao Seng Suk | (SDU) |
| (v) Treasurer | Khiang Soe Naing Aung | (NDF) |
| (vi) Member | General Tamala Paw | (NDF) |
| (vii) Member | Khun Manko Ban | (UNLD-LA) |
| (viii) Member | Dr. Khin Maung | (NUPA) |
| (ix) Member | Bawmwang La Raw | (KNO) |

Advisors: (i) Mahn Aung Than Lay (KNPP)

(ii) Sao Harn Yawnghwe Euro-Burma Office

5. The "Ethnic Nationalities Solidarity and Cooperation Committee" (ENSCC) was reformed as the working committee of Ethnic Nationalities Council. The ENSCC members are:

| (i) Chairman Dr. Chao Tzang Yawnghwe | (UNLD-LA) |
|--------------------------------------|-----------|
| (ii) Secretary Saw David Taw | (NDF) |
| (iii) Member Khun Teddy Buri | (UNLD-LA) |
| (iv) Member Col. Hkun Okker | (NDF) |

(v) Member Khun Rimond Htoo

(KNPP)

6. The Ethnic Nationalities Council will work not only coordinating policies to promote solidarity among ethnic nationalities forces; but also with other democratic forces and alliance in order to create a peaceful country where ethnic nationalities can enjoy full rights of political equality and self-determination.

Ethnic Nationalities Council 2004-03-15

Contact Persons:

1. Saw Ba Thin (Chairman, ENC)

Tel: 0 9634 1490

E-mail: botulip@cscoms.com

2. Dr. Lian H Sakhong (Secretary, ENC)

Tel: 0 6185 3325

E-mail address: liansakhong@hotmail.com